Advisory Boards

The Responding to the Addictions Crisis Grand Challenge is guided by both the Scientific Leadership Team and the Community Advisory Board. Made up of IU faculty and leaders, alongside community members, the boards provide a group of experts with diverse backgrounds and experiences who provide scientific and front-line expertise to help strategically guide the direction of the grand challenge.

Scientific Leadership Team

Katy Börner

Börner is the Victor H. Yngve Professor of Engineering and Information Science at the Luddy School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering  at IU Bloomington.


Joan Duwve (former member)

Duwve previously served as an associate professor and associate dean of public health practice at the Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health at IUPUI.


Peter Embi

Embi is president and chief executive officer at the Regenstrief Institute, Inc.


Ruth Gassman

Gassman is the executive director of Prevention Insights at the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington.


Shaun Grannis

Grannis is vice president of data and analytics at the Regenstrief Institute, Inc.


David Kareken

Kareken is a professor of neurology and director of the Indiana Alcohol Research Center (IARC) at the IU School of Medicine


Hsien-Chang Lin

Lin is an associate professor of applied health science at the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington.

Ken Mackie

Mackie is a Jack and Linda Gill Chair at the Gill Center for Biomolecular Science and a distinguished professor of psychological and brain sciences at IU Bloomington.


Michelle Malott

Malott is executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at IU East.


Andrea Pfeifle (former member)

Pfeifle previously served as an associate dean for interprofessional health education and practice at the IU School of Medicine.


Nicolas Terry

Terry is the Hall Render Professor of Law at the Robert H. McKinney School of Law at IUPUI.


Ellen Vaughan

Vaughan is an associate professor at the School of Education at IU Bloomington.